Fatinthehead's Blog

Is Your Fat Belly Keeping You Sane?

Bon Appetit Cleanse – Day 8

Breakfast – I had a busy morning so I didn’t have time to make steel cut oats with berries. I had another banana almond smoothie with a tablespoon of flax meal in it. It was very good and you barely tasted the flax meal at all. Unfortunately, I also had two gluten-free cookies and a latte at my meeting. The hostess had gone out of her way to make me gluten-free cookies. I thought it would be rude not to at least try a few. 

Lunch – I did not have a lunch of any sort. I was feeling bad about the cookies from the morning.

Snack – I ate a cold piece of leftover salmon with the green tahini sauce. It was good.

IMG_0532

Dinner – The roasted tofu with red pepper sauce and bulgur salad with cauliflower was delicious. We were vegetarians for a while (before I realized I was allergic to wheat) so we have eaten a lot of tofu over the years. This was a wonderful preparation. I made a second batch of the red pepper sauce to get us through the second week of the cleanse and it was even better. I used a jar of Mount Olive roasted red peppers instead of roasting my own so the consistency was much smoother a bit less smokey. Instead of bulgur, I used quinoa in the salad. The combination of cauliflower, grains, and pistachios in the lemony dressing was very nice. I think this side would work well with roasted chicken too.

How I’m feeling – Guilty for eating those cookies but good about the rest of the day. Overall, ok.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment